Nursery! It isn’t tooooo late!

So, we started on AU’s nursery oh, back in 2009.  That’s when we had it painted.  I think it was September.  I had a dream.  No, a literal dream, one night about how the nursery should look.  I am really pleased that what I dreamt actually came to be.  That’s pretty cool.  I’m not much of a designer but I do know what I like and I.Like.This.  😀 

First, the paint…a caramel latte sort of color.  Lots of people who saw it said, “Oh, my,”  and “What were you thinking?”  Then about 18 inches from the ceiling a bright, bold canary gold stripe all the way around the room.  Pause.  Yes.  Light brown and bright yellow. 

The furniture is a turquoise changing table, a dark brown chest of drawers (Mr. T’s from when he was a child), a twin bed, a red crib, and a white bookcase.  Yes, so far we have latte, canary, turquoise, dark brown, red, and white.  A circus of color!!! 

All of this complemented by art work framed in white.  A family tree by SarahJane @ Etsy.  A duo of posters with the alphabet and numbers.  A primitive applique thing.  A gorgeous Noah’s ark cross stitch (from the World’s Longest Yardsale 2010!).  A plaque.  A drawing by a Scandinavian children’s book artist that hung in my nursery.  PLUS A large papier mache letter A that I decorated.   And an Eiffel Tower lamp.  3 Silver spoons.  Who could forget HAPPY? 

Yes a plethora of decorative items…oh, and stripey multi-color curtains and a stripey multi-color rug.   And a lovely mobile/light fixture thing of wire and butterflies.  It does sound a bit of a mishmash madhouse…I LOVE it though!     

 

I’d like to say that it all came together before Little Miss joined us earthside.  But that would be a large fib.  The Friday evening prior to Mr. T returning from his FMLA leave we hung the pictures on the wall.  It brought it all together.  Special thanks to Mom for hanging the mobile/light fixture thing.  Super huge high fives to Mr. T for believing in my vision and letting me run with it.  I hope it will be a wonderful place to grow, play, and sleep.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment